Ducati Scrambler Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still fairly new to Thailand and discovered yesterday that I have been filling my Scrambler with Gasahol 95 (Orange Label). Yesterday I found a station that had Benzine 95 and I filled up. Holy %$# what a difference! Low RPM surging is almost non existent and the engine runs cooler and smoother. I will use nothing else from now on.
I should have done some research on the fuels sold here before blindly filling up... and maybe this a "DUHH" post for most of you, but maybe it will help somebody.
Cheers,
gmac

· Registered
212 Posts
Ducati Thailand recommends V-Power from Shell which is Gasohol 95 with Nitrogen added. I had plenty of low RPM surging so next fuel up I'm going to look for 95 Benzine. Shell doesn't have that so I'm gonna check Caltex and PTT.

What fuel station brand did you get your Benzine from?

· Registered
212 Posts
I was told to stay away from fuel with high Ethanol levels so go with Shell 91 octane but if you get in a pinch and cant find a Shell I was told its better to go with a regular fuel than a high octane fuel with high Ethanol levels
High octane rating doesn't mean high ethanol level. In fact both gasohol 91 and gasohol 95 have the same 10% ethanol. It's just mixed with 91 gasoline vs 95 gasoline. Higher octane means higher compression before ignition.

Yes you should stay away from fuel with high ethanol levels (user manual says max 10%) but at the same time the MINIMUM octane to be used is 95. So if you put in gasohol 91, you are possibly damaging the engine because of premature ignition of the fuel!

To summarize: gasohol 95 or benzine 95 are both ok. The rest is not.

· Registered
107 Posts
If a any
one else finds Benzine 95... let me know what they think...
Hi gmac