High beam gets stuck "on" - Ducati Scrambler Forum
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By SupportTheSecond
  • 1 Post By ralph
  • 1 Post By ralph
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-28-2016, 08:51 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
tamjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
High beam gets stuck "on"

Not sure how it happens but every now and then I notice that my high beam is on and I can't make it go back to low without restarting the bike. I've looked in the manual to see if I am missing something and maybe it's a poor translation from another language or maybe I am just dense but I can't figure out where the high/low button is...the only button on my left side controls that seems to affect the headlight is the flasher button...so I must unknowingly be hitting the high/low beam button while I work the clutch or something and then once it's on, it's on. Usually it's not an issue since I am riding in daylight but today I rode into work (in the dark) for this first time since I got my bike back in December and I felt like it was hitting oncoming traffic in the face.

Brian
Mill Valley, California

2015 Red Ducati Scrambler Icon for sale, w/Puig windscreen, Full throttle bars, tail tidy, G2 throttle tamer and Hepco & Becker engine guards.
tamjam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-28-2016, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Vincelp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Rennes, Brittany, France
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Hello


The high/low beam button is a two positions button : if you push downward, you're in high beam, if you push upward, you're in low beam. If you press it, then you get a highbeam flash.


So, if your bike remains in high beam, it's certainly because you keep the button in the down position.

VinceLP

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vincelp is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-28-2016, 09:25 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
tamjam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Thanks, I knew it had to be something obvious that I wasn't seeing on the diagram in the manual.

Brian
Mill Valley, California

2015 Red Ducati Scrambler Icon for sale, w/Puig windscreen, Full throttle bars, tail tidy, G2 throttle tamer and Hepco & Becker engine guards.
tamjam is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-28-2016, 10:54 AM
Member
 
SupportTheSecond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northern California
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Remember the actual high beam switch is also the flash to pass lever. This through me at first too since even the manual was vague when I went through it with small pictures and I'm old so I need bigger ones.

To make it short the flash to pass switch also moves up and down to turn on/off the high beam. Easy to hit with a glove on when shifting, I do it all the time.
tamjam likes this.

I've lived riding on two wheels for over 40 years by pretending I'm invisible to other drivers
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SupportTheSecond is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-28-2016, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Quote:
...if you push downward, you're in high beam, if you push upward, you're in low beam...
Do not push upward unless you want to break the switch.

The high beam switch/flasher rests in in one single position. If you want to change from high to low beam or vice versa, then push down tangentially i.e. on the thin edge of the switch. If you want to flash the high beams then push down radially i.e. on the wide part of the switch. Of course tangential and radial are meant in relation to the handlebar. In either case, the switch returns to it's normal position after you release it.

If anyone is still having problems, I can make a quick video.

I remember when I was trying to figure it out on the side of the road one day and I inadvertently switched from mph to kph on the instrument gauge. I didn't notice and when I picked up my bike the next day after my termi was installed I blamed the technician because I had a higher odometer reading, oops.
tamjam likes this.
ralph is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-28-2016, 06:58 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Is it not simply explained like this...

Pulling the switch towards the grip flashes.

Pushing down (lightly) towards the ground brings on high beam.

Pushing down (lightly) towards the ground returns to lo beam.

That's about it so far as I know.

Comes on as low beam, press down for high and down again for low and so on and so forth...
Deano968 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-28-2016, 08:23 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 447
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
That's a pretty good description Deano968. Here's a video.

tamjam likes this.
ralph is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-20-2019, 11:29 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The previous vid link doesnt work.

This is a vid I found that was super helpful

mycuru.com/#/vidplay/41/2]Ionic App
brodrman is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome